I’d go link crazy here, but I have to get to bed.

The Cure
The Smiths
Depeche Mode
New Order
Cocteau Twins
Dead Can Dance
Portishead
Pixies
Bjork
Joy Division
Radiohead
Sinead O’Connor
Siouxsie and the Banshees
Lush
Hooverphonic
Lisa Gerrard
Jeff Buckley
The Verve
Lamb
My Bloody Valentine
Morrissey
This Mortal Coil
Stereolab
Peter Murphy
Sarah McLachlan
Garbage
Massive Attack
Bauhaus
The The
Sugarcubes
Slowdrive
Love & Rockets
The Church
Cranes
Ride
Everything But The Girl
Echo & The Bunnymen
The Sisters of Mercy
Curve
Tricky
Dubstar
Morcheeba
Clan of Xymox / Xymox
Throwing Muses
Aphex Twin
Velour 100
Mojave 3
Skinny Puppy
Talk Talk
Belly

Okay, I love music from each and every one of the above bands or performers. I love Big Sonic Heaven. But I have a hard time putting my finger on, well, just what exactly is this music? Maybe there just isn’t a particular genre.. it’s not gothic, ambient, jazz, moody, whatever.. it’s an eclectic mix. But there’s a common thread through the whole thing. It all feels strangely nostalgic yet new and authentic to me.

Anyway, this is, in part, me. I tried the goth thing for awhile, and though City Club is great fun, I can’t live it. This music, though, seems to have the happy melancholy I like without the melodrama.

Ugh. Bed.

